How Many Times Can You Deregister A Switch?

Important: You can deregister a primary Nintendo Switch console through the Nintendo eShop settings on the console itself.

If you don’t have access to the primary console, you can deactivate a console from your Nintendo Account remotely; however, this can only be done once per year.

What happens when you deregister a switch?

You deregister a missing Switch to protect your Nintendo account and eShop access. You don’t want whoever has your Switch to buy anything with your account. You also want to deny the bastard access to your digital games.

Complete These Steps

Select “System Settings” on the HOME Menu. Scroll down to highlight “Users,” then select the appropriate user account to access the Profile Settings. Scroll down to the bottom of the settings and select “Unlink Nintendo Account.” Select “Confirm,” then “Unlink” to unlink the Nintendo Account.

Can you have 2 switches with the same account?

You can link your Nintendo Account to multiple Nintendo Switch consoles and play your games on any of them using your Nintendo Account. Only one of the consoles can act as the primary console. On the primary console, any other users can play the games you downloaded with your Nintendo Account.

How do I deactivate my Nintendo account without the console?

“If you do not have access to the original console, you can also deactivate a primary console off-device once per year. Off-device deactivations can be done by visiting accounts.nintendo.com, selecting “Shop Menu”, and then “Deregister Primary Console”.”

What happens if I lose a switch game?

Yes, save data is stored on the console, not the cartridge. However if you lose your console, you will lose your saves unless you are subscribed to Nintendo Switch Online where your saves would be backed up into the cloud. Yes, with a few rare exceptions of physical/digital having different titles.

How do I deregister a lost Nintendo switch?

How To Deregister A Lost Nintendo Switch

  • Sign in to the Nintendo Account you wish to deactivate.
  • Click Shop Menu.
  • Click Deregister Primary Console.
  • Enter your Nintendo Account password.
  • Click Deregister twice to confirm.

What happens if I delete my Nintendo account?

After the deactivation period has passed, your Nintendo Account will be deleted permanently and you will lose all your data associated with it, such as: Digital content you purchased in apps linked to your Nintendo Account. Save data of apps linked to your Nintendo Account.

Can I transfer my Nintendo account to another switch?

You’ll need both the old and new Switch consoles to perform the transfer. Both the old and new Switch need to be connected to the same Wi-Fi network. The new Switch can’t already be linked to the same Nintendo Account that you want to transfer data from (you’ll connect to the new Switch during the transfer process).

If you’ve already linked a Nintendo Account, Nintendo Account Management will be displayed in Settings via the More menu. If you choose “Unlink Account / Delete Save Data” from the Nintendo Account Management screen, your save data will be deleted and will not be recoverable.